President's Message

Dianne Jewell Sheltering Arms CEO and PresidentThank you for visiting Sheltering Arms! Whether you are here to request an appointment, learn more about the services we provide, track aspects of your personal health or make a donation, I hope you find this interactive website to be a valuable tool.

We understand that when selecting a rehabilitation provider, you want to be confident in your choice. With our extraordinary staff of highly skilled therapists, physicians and nurses specially trained in physical medicine and rehabilitation, you can be confident that Sheltering Arms is the right decision.

As you read more and watch the video clips throughout the site, you will learn how innovative research is translating to meaningful outcomes for the patients that we treat.

We are always seeking ways to enhance the patient experience and the practice of rehabilitation. Sheltering Arms has grown significantly over the last several years, adding programs, services and locations with you in mind. From recruiting and retaining dedicated team members with outstanding clinical expertise to embracing breakthrough technology and treatment protocols, we are committed to providing the best rehabilitative care when and where you need it.

To schedule an appointment or obtain additional information, call us at 804-764-1000.

At Sheltering Arms, everything we do comes together for one purpose – helping our patients Find the Power to Overcome™.


Dianne V. Jewell
President & CEO

Administrative Leaders

Dianne V. Jewell, PT, DPT, PhD, FAPTA
President & Chief Executive Officer

Jim Litsinger
Chief Financial Officer

Alex Grisham, CISSP, ITIL
VP, Information Technology
Information Security Officer

Stephanie Sulmer
VP, Marketing and Business Development
Public Information Officer

Bryan Gilreath
AVP, Outpatient Therapy and Wellness

Amanda Worley
VP, Human Resources & Corporation Compliance Officer

Board of Directors

We are tremendously grateful for the time and expertise that these leaders dedicate to guiding and supporting our work in helping patients find the power to overcome.

Ashby Hackney – Chairman
Peter A. Zedler, M.D. – Vice Chairman

Holly Antrim
John D. Burns, MBA, FACHE
David E. Constine III
Peter H. Bowles
Teresa Reynolds DiMarco
W. Lee Chaney III, CPA
Sandra M. Douglas, JD, CHC, CHPC
Lawrence E. Gibson
Theodore W. Price – Foundation Board Chairman
Leslie Wyatt, R.N., M.S.

Dianne V. Jewell, PT, DPT, PhD, FAPTA – Sheltering Arms Corporation President & CEO

Foundation Board

Theodore W. Price – Chairman
Peter H. Bowles – Vice Chairman
Richard Bagby
Gina Bass
Andy H. Bennett
Michael W. Bor
Charles M. Caravati III
W. Bates Chappell – Emeritus
Patricia B. Cushnie, B.S.N., M.Ed.
Barbara H. Dunn, PhD, RN
Lawrence E. Gibson
Ashby R. Hackney – Hospital Board Chair
Russell B. Harper
Sarah Poitevent Porter – Junior Board Chair
Jean Davenport Hershey
Rick Kelley
Dianne V. Jewell, P.T., D.P.T., Ph.D. – SAPRC President & CEO
John L. McElroy III – Foundation President
Kelly del Campo Merricks, CFRE – Secretary
Lisa Taylor Powell
Jim Litsinger – Treasurer & Hospital CFO
Sue H. Schutt
LaTasia S. Turpin
Leslie Wyatt, R.N., M.S.

Junior Board

Sarah Poitevent Porter – President
Jean Davenport Hershey – Past-President
Rachel Kidwell McNulty – Bal Co-Chair
Caroline Allen Smith – Bal Co-Chair
Alyson Green Croft – Corresponding Secretary
Mary Buford Guthridge – Recording Secretary
Christian Thompson Henderson – Treasurer
Ashley Krupin Tischer – Sponsor Chair
Eugenie Valentine Calderon – Corporate Sponsor Chair
Julie Hazelip Antrim
Katie Powers Basmajian
Gina Panella Bass
Maria Enochs Brent
Margaret Cogar Brock
Elizabeth Greenway Carney
Alicia Conrad
Elizabeth Cullen Cox
Alston Armfield Daigh
Hampton Moore Eubanks
Helen Mundin Garnett
Nancy Gottwald Hartt
Eliza Hickey Heyward
Eliza Valentine Holzbach
Elizabeth Hodges
Carter Hancock Johnston
Lilibet Kyte
Sarah Ann Knier
Leland Cook Klim
Berkeley Blanchard Martin
Allison White Monette
Lane Victory Mosby
Berkley Gordon Mudrick
Elisabeth Davis Mullins
Elizabeth Baldwin Noble
Ruth Hays Burke Ould
Caroline Tilghman Packard
Cary Thompson Pacy
Alexandra Squire Saunders
Kiki Slaughter
Polly Marshall Taylor
Elizabeth Tilghman Valentine
Jane Vick
Katherine Christian Wall
Cary Chipley Williams
Mary Davenport Williams